LEAP Biomed Innovators are made up of industry leaders


Delbert L. White

Del White is the president at LEAP Biomed Innovators after serving more than ten years in various senior management capacities at LC Industries, a manufacturing company located in Durham, NC and the largest employer in the US of people who are blind. Del's background includes management of large global technology infrastructure projects, and leading manufacturing operations of products used in military operations. 


In 2012, Del became the Executive Vice President of Business Operations for LC Industries and served in this capacity until his retirement in January 2016. Del holds management degrees in Mathematics and Finance.


Mark Humayun MD, PhD

Dr. Humayun is the Cornelius J. Pings Chair in Biomedical Sciences, Professor of Ophthalmology, Biomedical Engineering, and Cell and Neurobiology, Director of the Institute for Biomedical Therapeutics, Director of Sensory Sciences Institute, and Co-Director of the USC Eye Institute at the University of Southern California.  


Dr. Humayun’s research focuses at the intersection of Engineering and Medicine on the development of biomimetic bioelectronics for medical application.  He is a member of the National Academies of Engineering and the National Academies Institute of Medicine. He is also recognized as one of the Best Doctors in the country and in 2011 US News and World report listed him in the top 1% of Ophthalmologists.


Dr. Humayun has more than 150 peer-reviewed publications, authored more than 20 book chapters and is listed as an inventor on more than 100 patents/patents applications. His work has led to the formation of multiple start-up companies. He is recognized internationally as the inventor of the artificial retina called Argus II, which was recently approved by FDA as the first bioelectronics retinal implant to restore sight to certain blind patients.

In 2016, President Obama awarded Dr. Humayan the National Medal for Science,Technology and Innovation

Yu-Chong Tai, PhD

Dr. Yu-Chong Tai is the Anna L. Rosen Professor of Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. He is also the Executive Officer and Professor of the newly founded Department of Medical Engineering at California Institute of Technology.


While a graduate student, he developed the first electrically-spun polysilicon micromotor at UC Berkeley. After Berkeley, he joined Caltech and built a research program on micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) research specially for MEMS and biomedical applications. He has been working on sensors, lab-on-a-chip diagnostics, retinal implants, spinal cord implants, brain implants, micro drug deliver, etc.


He is the recipient of the IBM Fellowship, Ross Tucker Award, Best Thesis Award (at Berkeley), Presidential Young Investigator (PYI) Award, Packard Award, ALA Achievement Award, Popular Mechanics’ Breakthrough Award, and the 2015 IEEE Robert Bosch MEMS/NEMS Award, etc.


He has more than 600 articles/patents in the field of MEMS. He is an IEEE and IOP Fellow. Chairman of Electrical Engineering and a Professor of Electrical and Bioengineering Engineering at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech).



Let's leap forward.

 ​​2645 Nina Street, Pasadena, CA 91107

Tel: 626-508-1700


​​​​© 2020 LEAP Biomed Innovators, All Rights Reserved